How to Kill a Cult

How to Kill a Cult, 2019: Diff Films Production

The fourteenth film I worked on was the largest one yet. Not only was it the biggest in terms of crew, for nearly the entire society (inlcuding present and Almuni members), were involved in helping make the film, but it also had the largest cast, an established budget and even a fight choreographer.

Regarding my role on this project, I worked as a clapper, sound recordist, boom operator, and logger. I also ran during the film’s production, carrying and fetching equipment and props as required.

Whilst creatively this project was not mine, I worked hard to help the director/ writer realise his specific vision. At times I found it stressful, owing to the pressures on set and the tight schedule for actors’ availability and the restricted hours at venues and locations.

Despite it being a student production, its scale was a considerable step-up from my previous experiences, and for the time, gave me the closest approximation to working on a prfessional set. It was a good experience, and I’m proud of the role I served in helping make the film.

Leave a comment