unBEARable

unBEARable, 2019: 48 Hour Film Challenge

This was the first 48 Hour Film Challenge helmed under my Presidency of the Cardiff University Film Society. Although I was not directly responsible for the day-to-day running of the society, which I will discuss at a later date, I was glad this first event was a huge success.

Regarding the specifics of this film, we were once again given prompts and a weekend to make the film. Here, our prompts were:

  • Prop: Bear
  • Must Include: Reference to a previous society film
  • Scene: Flashback
  • Character Trait: Pessimism

And once again, we chose to embrace our central prop as our main charatcer. To combat the scale issues evident in The Rough Nothing, I decided to construct settings that were better suited to the size of the bear. Yes, the sets are crude, but with the consideration that they were made in an hour or two over the 48 hour time contraint, I was quite happy with the result.

Once again, the voice acting is sufficent at best, but we are not actors. I think filmwise, the shots are decent and the story is simple and achievable within the constraints of the challenge. The character-driven narrative was looked upon favourably by the of society members during the screeening and it won several categoires:

🏆 Winner of Best Film

🏆 Winner of Best Editing

🏆 Audience Choice

Behind the Scenes

Leave a comment